What You Need to Know About Utah Medical Cards
Perfect Earth offers guidance about the Utah medical card, who can prescribe medical marijuana, how to apply for a medical marijuana card, and more. We are committed to providing our patients with the highest quality service through our team of pharmacists and industry professionals.
For patients who may be new to medical marijuana, there are a few things to learn. Working in conjunction with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, The Utah Department of Health created The Utah Medical Cannabis Program to oversee and define every aspect of the Utah medical card. The topics include who can prescribe medical marijuana, how to apply for a medical marijuana card, and other aspects of this important resource for Utahns.
Ready to learn more about the Utah medical card? We’ll walk you through the process of how to apply for a medical marijuana card step by step.
Who Can Prescribe Medical Marijuana?
The Utah Department of Health (UDOH) has a list of medical providers who are registered with the department as “qualified medical providers” (QMPs). The UDOH list includes QMPs who have authorized the UDOH to post their name, specialty, and contact information on the website.
The requirements to get a Utah medical card include:
- Must be a Utah resident;
- Must have at least one qualifying condition;
- Submit an application online;
- Meet in-person with a medical provider registered with the Utah Department of Health to recommend medical cannabis;
- Medical provider has certified your eligibility for a medical cannabis card online; and
- Pay a $15 application fee online.
Reasons to Get a Medical Card
If you have a qualifying condition listed under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act, you may want to consider applying for a medical marijuana card. Patients with these conditions may find relief through cannabis products. The Utah medical card is reserved for those with conditions such as:
- HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist, or diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
- A terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- A condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
To see the full list of qualifying conditions and exceptions for a Utah medical card, click here and scroll to FAQ #9.
Types of Utah Medical Cards
There are four types of medical cannabis cards available to Utah patients:
- Patient Cards: Patients 18 years of age and older. Patients under 21 years of age must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.
- Guardian Cards: Parents or legal guardians of minors who are eligible to consume medical cannabis. These cards are issued in conjunction with provisional patient cards.
- Provisional Patient Cards: Minors under the age of 18 who meet the eligibility requirements to consume medical cannabis. These are issued in conjunction with guardian cards. All provisional patient cards must have approval from the Compassionate Use Board.
- Caregiver Cards: Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who cannot procure or consume medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers must be designated by the patient cardholders they will be assisting.
How to Apply for Medical Marijuana Card
Utah medical cards cannot be obtained from a medical cannabis pharmacy, medical clinic, or any entity other than the Utah Department of Health. Individuals interested in getting a Utah medical card may apply at the UDOH Medical Cannabis Program website.
All participants in the medical cannabis program must submit a valid and current form of government-issued photo ID. Each patient’s first medical cannabis card is active for 90 days from the date it was issued. Within the first 90 days, the patient and their medical provider must renew the patient’s medical cannabis card online, or the card will expire. From there, card renewals are every six months or annually, depending on the patient’s condition.
Once you have your Utah medical card, we invite you to become one of our valued patients at our Ogden or Logan pharmacies. Our mission is to deliver safe, clean medical cannabis products that improve our patient’s health and well-being. If you still have questions, give us a call or visit the UDOH Medical Cannabis Program website FAQs.